Copyright 2019 © SLIIT. All Rights Reserved. Concept designed and developed by Web Lankan

University of Newcastle

The University of Newcastle stands as a global leader distinguished by a commitment to equity and excellence.

The University of Newcastle is a leader in university education, with a reputation for high quality teaching and learning and exciting, contemporary academic programs. Our degree programs are internationally recognised. Our research is world-class and diverse and our partnerships and collaborations drive innovation. UON is ranked in the top 1% of universities worldwide.

Demonstrating our commitment to relevant teaching is our approach to problem-based learning, first pioneered by us some 40 years ago, which underpins our degree programs in medicine, engineering, architecture, nursing, social work and law. The University of Newcastle 2020-2025 Strategic Plan "Looking Ahead" focuses on our communities, our regions and our responsibilities. We are committed to be a driving force for excellence and equity in higher education. We will deliver an exceptional student experience, preparing graduate for life in an increasingly interconnected society. Through relevant research solutions, we will bring the world to our regions, and take our regions to the world.

Motto "I look ahead"
Type Public
  • 1951 as a college of the University of New South Wales
  • 1965 as University of Newcastle
Chancellor Paul Jeans
Vice-Chancellor Professor Alex Zelinsky, AO
Visitor Governor of New South Wales
Academic staff
Administrative staff
Students 37,946
Undergraduates 25,193
Postgraduates 7,499
Location NewcastleNew South WalesAustralia
32°53′34″S151°42′16″ECoordinates: 32°53′34″S 151°42′16″E
Campus Urban
Affiliations Association to Advance Collegiate Schools of Business, Association of Commonwealth Universities, United Nations Institute for Training and Research (CIFAL Newcastle)


The earliest origins of the present-day University of Newcastle can be traced to the Newcastle Teachers College (established 1949) and Newcastle University College (NUC, established 1951). NUC was created as an offshoot of the New South Wales University of Technology (now known as the University of New South Wales) and was co-located with the Newcastle Technical College at Tighes Hill. At the time of its establishment, NUC had just five full-time students and study was restricted to engineering, mathematics and science.

World Rankings

  • QS World University Ranking 2021 - No 197
  • QS Subject World Rankings 2020 - 10 subjects ranked in top 200 in the world
  • Times Higher Education Asia-Pacific University Rankings 2019 - Top 50 University in the Asia-Pacific Region
  • 8th in Australia for research 'well above world standard' by ERA2018
  • 9th in Australia for Research
  • The largest number of our graduates reside across New South Wales with over 12,000 graduates in Sydney and over 50,000 across the Hunter.
  • The University has established a campus presence in the heart of Sydney, and alumni are welcome to visit our facilities in the Sydney CBD.
  • For more information and opportunities to get involved with your UON alumni network read about our Hunter and Sydney Networks.

More About the University

Throughout the 1950s and 1960s, Newcastle residents campaigned for NUC to be re-constituted as a university in its own right. The campaign was ultimately successful, with the University of Newcastle being established as an autonomous institution on 1 January 1965 by gubernatorial proclamation under the University of Newcastle Act 1964 (NSW). The new university was granted a heraldic coat of arms by the College of Arms in London, an event seen by many in the community as signifying the new institution's independence. In 1966, the University relocated from Tighes Hill to a largely undeveloped bushland site in Shortland.

As enrolments grew, the University embarked on a major building program and redeveloped the Shortland site into the Callaghan campus, named for Sir Bede Callaghan, foundation member of the University council and chancellor from 1977 to 1988.

Available Transfer Pathways:

Information Technology Programmes

  • Bachelor of Information Technology
si_LKSinhala ta_INTamil en_USEnglish