Copyright 2019 © SLIIT. All Rights Reserved. Concept designed and developed by Web Lankan

Ulster University

As Northern Ireland's civic university, Ulster delivers excellent teaching and research that positively impacts on the prosperity of our society.

Ulster University (Irish: Ollscoil Uladh, Ulster Scots: Ulstèr Universitie or Ulstèr Varsitie), legally the University of Ulster, is a multi-campus public university located in Northern Ireland. It is often referred to informally and unofficially as Ulster, or by the abbreviation UU. It is the largest university in Northern Ireland and the second-largest university on the island of Ireland, after the federal National University of Ireland.

Type Public research university
Established 1865 – Magee College
1953 - Magee University
1969 – New University of Ulster
1982 – University of Ulster
2014 – Ulster University
Endowment £14.365 million (2018)
Budget £185 million
Chancellor James Nesbitt
Vice-Chancellor Paddy Nixon
Academic staff
Students 24,640 (2016/17)
Undergraduates 19,160 (2016/17)
Postgraduates 5,480 (2016/17)

Coleraine, County Londonderry
Belfast, County Antrim

Campus Varied (Urban/ Rural)
Colours Logo:Navy blue & Bronze

Seal:Red & Gold

Affiliations EUA, ACU, UUK, UI


The New University of Ulster (NUU) incorporated Magee College founded in 1865 in Derry. Magee College was a college of the Royal University of Ireland from 1880 and later became associated with the University of Dublin (better known as Trinity College) when the Royal University was dissolved in 1908 and replaced by the National University of Ireland. In 1953 Magee College broke its links with Dublin and became Magee University College. NUU was instigated as part of Her Majesty's Government's expansion of higher education in the 1960s.

In 1963, the Robbins Committee recommended a substantial expansion of higher education in Great Britain,[17] partly triggered by the Anderson Report of 1960, which increased consumer demand by instigating a grants scheme. In the same year, a committee of eight chaired by Sir John Lockwood, Master of Birkbeck College, London, was appointed to review facilities for university and higher technical education in Northern Ireland. It adopted the aims and principles of Robbins, but aimed to take account of the different economic, social and educational structure of Northern Ireland.

World Rankings

Employer Reputation 19.5%
Citations per Faculty 20.4%
International Faculty 98.6%
International Students 24.6%

Ulster University is Northern Ireland's regional university with four campuses situated in Northern Ireland in Belfast, Coleraine, Derry (Magee College) and Jordanstown. Additionally, two further branch campuses in both London and Birmingham in England deliver courses.

An online distance learning provision also offers Ulster University courses globally. The University was among the first Universities to offer degree level programs through its, previous "Campus One" program and was a pioneer in the introduction of online degree level courses in Biomedical Science. The university was subsequently selected by the European Commission to deliver the world's first Higher Educational Programme in Hydrogen Safety Engineering.

About Alumni

The University’s Development and Alumni Relations Office is responsible for building and maintaining relationships with our graduates and friends. Our alumni and friends help current students to succeed through the provision of mentoring, placement opportunities, and opportunities for employment upon graduation. They also help current students through philanthropic support.

Available Transfer Pathways:

Information Technology Programmes

  • BSc. (Hons) Information Communication Technology
  • BSc. (Hons) Computer Science (Software System Development)
  • BSc. (Hons)  Computer Science
  • B Eng (Hons) Artificial Intelligence
  • MSc. Data Science
si_LKSinhala ta_INTamil en_USEnglish