Copyright 2019 © SLIIT. All Rights Reserved. Concept designed and developed by Web Lankan

University of Strathclyde

Based in the heart of Glasgow, Scotland's largest city, the University of Strathclyde is home to students from over 140 countries.

The University of Strathclyde is a public research university located in Glasgow, Scotland. Founded in 1796 as the Andersonian Institute, it is Glasgow's second-oldest university, having received its royal charter in 1964 as the first technological university in the United Kingdom.

Type Public
Established 1796 – Andersonian Institute
1964  - University of Strathclyde
Endowment £41.7 million (2022)
Budget £387.8 million (2021–22)
Chancellor James Nesbitt
Vice-Chancellor The Lord Smith of Kelvin
Academic staff
1,930 (2021/22)
Students 25,715 (2021/22)
Undergraduates 16,215 (2021/22)
Postgraduates 9,500 (2021/22)

Glasgow, Scotland, UK

Campus Urban
Colours Navy blue & Orange

Red & Green

Affiliations ACU, EQUIS, ECIU, IPEM


he university was founded in 1796 through the will of John Anderson, professor of Natural Philosophy at the University of Glasgow, who left instructions and the majority of his estate to create a second university in Glasgow which would focus on "Useful Learning" – specialising in practical subjects – "for the good of mankind and the improvement of science, a place of useful learning". The university later named its city centre campus after him.

In 1828, the institution was renamed Anderson's University, partially fulfilling Anderson's vision of two universities in the city of Glasgow. The name was changed in 1887, to reflect the fact that there was no legal authority for the use of the title of 'university'. As a result, the Glasgow and West of Scotland Technical College was formed, becoming the Royal Technical College in 1912, and the Royal College of Science and Technology in 1956 concentrating on science and engineering teaching and research. Undergraduate students could qualify for degrees of the University of Glasgow or the equivalent Associate of the Royal College of Science and Technology (ARCST).

Available Transfer Pathways:

Information Technology Programmes

  • BSc. (Hons) Computer Science
si_LKSinhala ta_INTamil en_USEnglish