Copyright 2019 © SLIIT. All Rights Reserved. Concept designed and developed by Web Lankan

Youngstown State University

Youngstown State University is a public research university in Youngstown, Ohio, United States. Founded in 1908, YSU currently serves over 12,000 students in studies up to the doctoral level.

From business to engineering to the creative arts, Youngstown State has a lot of choices as you begin your college career. With over $125 million in total financial aid being distributed annually, we also provide opportunities for students to graduate with little-to-no debt.

Motto Animus Liberatus
Motto in English
The Mind Freed
Type Public
Established 1908
Endowment $265 million (2018)[1]
President Jim Tressel
Provost Brien N. Smith
Students 12,644 (fall 2017)
Undergraduates 11,386 (fall 2017)
Postgraduates 1,258 (fall 2017)
United States

39.511905°N 84.734674°W

Colors Red and Black


The university's origins trace back to 1908, when the local branch of the YMCA established a school of law within the Youngstown Association School. In 1921, the school became known as the Youngstown Institute of Technology and offered its first evening courses. In 1928, a year after establishing the College of Arts and Sciences, the institute once again changed its name to Youngstown College. In 1955, Youngstown College was renamed as Youngstown University, an indication of the school's broadening curriculum.(note: A private for profit Youngstown College was formed in 1987 and had no affiliation with YSU. The college closed its doors in mid 2000 due to financial issues.)

On September 1, 1967, after becoming a public institution, Youngstown University became officially known as Youngstown State University. The following spring, YSU opened a Graduate School and College of Applied Science and Technology. In 1974, the College of Fine and Performing Arts was established.

More About the University

YSU offers doctoral degrees in educational leadership and physical therapy, as well as a doctorate in mathematics in cooperation with Rhodes University. Together with the University of Akron and Kent State University, YSU sponsors the Northeast Ohio Medical University, a BS-MD program. YSU engineering students may pursue doctoral studies in cooperation with the University of Akron and Cleveland State University. In addition, YSU has 35 masters programs and over 100 undergraduate majors.

The Dana School of Music at Youngstown State University was deemed an "All-Steinway" school in 2004. The Dana School of Music is one of the oldest non-conservatory schools of music in the United States. Additionally, the Youngstown State University Symphonic Wind Ensemble performed at New York City's Carnegie Hall in March 2005 and again in November 2015.

The Williamson College of Business holds a AACSB accreditation, the most recognized form of professional accreditation an institution can earn. As of 2018, this accreditation is held by less than five percent of the worlds business schools.

Available Transfer Pathways:

Information Technology Programmes

  • Computer Science
  • Computer Information System
  • Information Technology
si_LKSinhala ta_INTamil en_USEnglish