Copyright 2019 © SLIIT. All Rights Reserved. Concept designed and developed by Web Lankan

University of South Australia

We are partnered globally and nationally with academic, research and industry leaders to help build a vibrant and successful society

The University of South Australia is Australia’s University of Enterprise. Our culture of innovation is anchored around global and national links to academic, research and industry partners. Our graduates are the new urban professionals, global citizens at ease with the world and ready to create and respond to change. Our research is inventive and adventurous and we create new knowledge that is central to global economic and social prosperity.

We believe a university's reputation is determined largely by the quality of its graduates, and we are proud that more than 90 per cent of our graduates now in full-time work are employed in professional occupations within four months of completing their degrees.

Motto Educating professionals. Creating and applying knowledge. Engaging our communities.
Type Public research university
  • 1856 SA School of Arts
  • 1889 SA School of Mines & Industries
  • 1991 University of South Australia
Endowment A$607.54 million
Chancellor Jim McDowell
Vice-Chancellor David Lloyd
Academic staff
3,064 (Full-time)[1]
Students 32,000 (2015)
Location Adelaide, Whyalla and Mount GambierSAAustralia
34°55′29.41″S138°35′44.35″ECoordinates: 34°55′29.41″S 138°35′44.35″E
  • Australian Technology Network
  • Association of Commonwealth Universities
  • Universities Australia
Sports UniSA Sport


The University of South Australia was formed with the merger of the South Australian Institute of Technology (SAIT) with three of the campuses (Magill, Salisbury and Underdale) of the South Australian College of Advanced Education (SACAE) in 1991. The two other SACAE campuses, City and Sturt, were merged with the University of Adelaide and Flinders University respectively. To the former SACAE campuses of Magill, Salisbury and Underdale, SAIT added to the merger its three campuses at City East, The Levels (now known as Mawson Lakes) and Whyalla.

Salisbury campus was vacated in 1996, but its sale was held up for many years by litigation. In 1997, a new campus was opened at City West. In 2005, the campus at Underdale was closed as part of the Blueprint 2005 project, and its programmes were moved to other campuses. Some services still reside at Underdale such as Document Services. Blueprint 2005 also involved a number of new buildings, in particular at City West and Mawson Lakes.

World Rankings

QS World 279
THE-WUR World 201-250
CWTS Leiden World 255
USNWR World 433
  • We deliver for students the best possible start for their future careers;
  • We produce graduates who are capable of identifying opportunities and contributing to a vibrant and successful society;
  • We partner with industry and the professions to conduct research that’s cutting-edge and relevant; and
  • We engage meaningfully with our community.

More About the University

We are building a culture of innovation, through which our academic staff will be empowered to draw on digital innovations to advance their teaching practices, as our educators of the future. We are South Australia’s biggest university and offer undergraduate and postgraduate degree programs in business, education, arts, social sciences, health sciences, information technology, engineering and the environment. Programs are designed with strong professional emphasis and in partnership with industry.

UniSA is committed to providing enhanced educational offerings and an outstanding student experience. Our focus over coming years will be to extend the support we provide to our students, through drawing on emerging digital technologies to provide more personalised and flexible learning opportunities for our students, locally and globally. We will continue to broaden access and opportunities for students from diverse backgrounds and will support our students to enhance their leadership capabilities and build social and professional networks.

Available Transfer Pathways:

Engineering Programmes

  • B Eng (Hons) in Civil and Structural
  • BEng (Honours) in Electrical and Electronic
si_LKSinhala ta_INTamil en_USEnglish